Michael J. Dmochowski Sportsmanship Award

Michael J. Dmochowski

December 20, 1996 - March 21, 2015

  • Michael will always be remembered as a fantastic teammate.  He brought an infectious smile and attitude to the pool each and every day. 

    Each and every one of the coaches and his teammates are saddened by the loss of this great individual.  Lockport Swimming & Diving succeeded during his senior season by swimming with a smile, and he showed us how to do this every day.

    Mike was a rare and special student-athlete who had a profound effect on everyone he encountered.  He was a leader in the water, unleashing an incredible competitive fire every time he raced, but each and every race whether in victory (and there were a lot of those) or defeat ended with a smile to his parents, and a gentlemanly nod of appreciation to his teammates and competitors.

    Mike excelled not only in the pool but also in the classroom, having  been distinguished by the National Interscholastic Swim Coaches Association as an Academic All-American. 

    We have been blessed and privileged to have been a passenger on Mike's journey.


Award Recipients

Year Recipients
2019 Ethan Menges
2018 Benjamin Flaherty, Luke Smeal
2017 Noah Mullane, Carson Tatro
2016 NYSPHAA Section VI Good Sport Award Ian Smith
2016 Ian Smith, Benjamin Flaherty
2015 Mike Dmochowski, Carson Tatro
2015 NFL Sportsmanship Team Award
2015 Shawn Moore
2014 Bryan Wojcinski, Jared Destro, Alberto Carrancho-Martin
2012 Scott Guyton
2011 William Tschaepe
2010 Zach Dugan
2009 Ryan Hildebrand
2008 Lucas Moriera
2007 Michael Chiponis
2006 Dennis Miner
2005 NYSPHAA Section VI Good Sport Award Kris Fisher
2005 Section VI Team Sportsmanship Award
2005 Kyle Smith
2004 Sean Scott
2003 Kyle Smith
2002 Brandon Smith